Skip to content
Updated 2023 NFL draft order

2023 year The NFL draft will take place in Kansas City on April 27-29. From now until the Super Bowl in February, the 2023 NFL draft order will fluctuate after each game of the 2022 NFL season. So be sure to check back weekly as the current draft order is constantly updated throughout the regular season and postseason.

And don’t forget to check out the freebies Pro Football Network Mock Draft Simulator to take control of your favorite team and draft it top project prospects on the board.

Current order for the 2023 NFL draft

A number of trades have already affected the first round of the 2023 NFL Draft. In 2023, the Eagles, Texans, Lions and Seahawks all own multiple first-round picks thanks to offseason trades.

The Dolphins also had two first-round picks. But then the NFL stripped Miami of its first-round pick interference with Tom Brady and Sean Payton. The Dolphins also forfeited a 2024 third-round pick due to a tampering penalty.

1 round | Choices 1-18

1. Houston Texans
2. Carolina Panthers
3. Las Vegas Raiders
4. Philadelphia Eagles (New Orleans)
5. Pittsburgh Steelers
6. New England Patriots
7. Washington commanders
8. Detroit Lions
9. Miami Dolphins (from San Francisco)
10. Indianapolis Colts
11. Atlanta Falcons
12. Houston Texans (from Cleveland)
13. Seattle Seahawks (from Denver)
14. Seattle Seahawks
15. Los Angeles Chargers
16. Arizona Cardinals
17. New York Jets
18. Chicago Bears

1 round | Elections 19-31

19. Tampa Bay Buccaneers
20. Baltimore Ravens
21. Cincinnati Bengals
22. Tennessee Titans
23. Detroit Lions (from LA Rams)
24. New York Giants
25. Jacksonville Jaguars
26. Buffalo Bills
27. Dallas Cowboys
28. Green Bay Packers
29. Kansas City Chiefs
30. Minnesota Vikings
31. Philadelphia Eagles

How is the order of the NFL draft determined?

As with most draft orders in professional sports, there is a specific way to determine the NFL draft order. This is the reverse of each team’s finish last season. Playoff teams are then selected based on when they were eliminated and their overall season record. The NFL Draft tiebreaker procedures comes into play in determining the final order, as non-playoff teams get to choose between picks 1-18. Playoff teams from numbers 19-32 are then filtered out.

  • The six teams eliminated from Wild Card Weekend receive picks 19-24 based on their regular season records.
  • The four teams eliminated in the divisional round receive picks 25-28 based on regular season records.
  • The two teams eliminated in the Conference Championship receive the Nos. 29 and 30 picks based on regular season records.
  • The team that loses the Super Bowl will get the 31st pick.
  • The Super Bowl champion gets pick 32.

There are also compensatory selections awarded based on the NFL’s proprietary formula. Resolution JC-2A also went into effect, requiring teams to select in the third round if they draft minority head coaching or general manager candidates hired elsewhere.

Matt Infante is the Chief Operating Officer of the Pro Football Network. You can follow him Twitter: @MattyInfante.